Short Story Success

Standard

The People’s Friend magazine is one of the few weekly magazines in the country still publishing short stories. I’d sent them several stories in recent months, all of which had been returned almost immediately.  I’d studied the magazine, I’d read the guidance notes for prospective authors, and I’d read the extra info which appears in places like “womagwriter’s blog” (http://womagwriter.blogspot.com/) but still the rejections kept coming.

Then the womagwriter’s blog featured a piece by Shirley Blair, Fiction Editor at The Friend, so at last I had a specific name to address my stories to.  I thought less about the guidelines and the stories I’d read in the magazine, and more about simply writing a story which I believed in.  And lo, a positive outcome – Shirley emailed me yesterday to say she’ll take it.

Am delighted, particularly since this comes at a time I seem to have ground to a halt with my novel.  I’m hoping the ego boost will get me back on track!

Leave a Reply

