NaNoWriMo Starts Tomorrow

Standard

Have decided (rather at the last minute) to have another go at NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month http://www.nanowrimo.org/).  I’ve enjoyed my previous attempts (or maybe the enjoyment is only in retrospect), and it gave me a tremendous ego boost getting to the end of a 50,000 word novel (even if of dubious quality!). This year I’m hoping to rough out the novel I want to use as the basis for my dissertation for the MA.  This is either a fantastic idea which will really help me get ahead with the creative aspect, and clarify all the issues I need to tackle, or it’ll fall on its face – but if the latter, better now than at the other end of this academic year.

The whole approach to this speed-not-accuracy approach to writing can be summed up in Chris Baty’s book No Plot? No Problem!  and whilst I do have a basic plot in mind, I’m hoping that the story will…er…grow, organically, as I tap away at my keyboard. 

I’ll keep you posted on my word count, writer’s block, and general progress over the forthcoming 30 days.  Wish me luck….! 😉

Leave a Reply

