‘Out of Her Misery’ gets the honours

Standard

Just had an email from the good people at Circalit telling me the judges have selected my short story as the winner in their CircaChallenge competition.  Absolutely delighted!  Never expected, when I first saw the competition and decided to enter, that I would win – just thought it would be an interesting exercise, and liked the scenario which formed the basis of competition.  So there you go – it’s always worth entering.

Day 2 of NaNo – am over the 6,000 word mark.  Really wanted to press on during these two days, so am exactly where I hoped to be.  And while I’ve so far resisted the temptation to read back over what I’ve done, I’m really pleased with the way the characters feel and are turning out on the page.  Sometimes in my stories they start off a little shadowy and take a while to develop but these guys are really shaping up already – let’s hope they work as well for the reader.

Leave a Reply

