Keeping up with the writing calendar

Standard

Alas, as so often seems to happen to me, I notice something writing-related too late to be of any earthly use.  Today is the last day of National Storytelling Week http://www.sfs.org.uk/national-storytelling-week – with events having been organised around the country to encourage communities to create and enjoy storytelling.  I suppose this is to prose writing what Roger McGough’s ethos is to poetry – encouraging the spoken word, the live telling of stories, rather than merely reading the words on the page in your head.  I think it’s a fab idea – though suspect I personally would be awful at it.  (You know when someone records the sound of your voice, and you can’t believe it’s you?  Ugh….cringe-making!)

Anyway, I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to be more on the ball as a writer.  It’s no use just sitting at my desk, tapping away oblivious to everything else.  I need to be keeping an eye on what’s going on in the wider world, taking note of literary festivals,  forthcoming competitions, and special writing occasions.  I need to be thinking ahead and doing a bit more forward planning.

In short, I need to be more professional – and I probably need a writing calendar.  But should this be paper-based or electronic?  And will I remember to keep it updated?  I clearly need to go away and think about this further.  In the meantime, if anyone has suggestions for excellent writing calendars which are already out there, please let me know!  😉

Leave a Reply

