An embarrassment of festivals?

Standard

In my quest to be more on the ball as regards literary news and events, I thought I’d quickly google “literary festivals” and note them down.  Ha ha!  Imagine my shock when it soon became apparent this would be no small feat.

The list of literary and book festivals is almost endless.  Indeed, if you attempted to visit them all, you’d run into trouble as so many overlap – you’d be rushing from one end of the country to another.  My not-too-brief trawl reveals I could start today with the first event of the UEA spring lit fest, before heading off to Bath, Oxford and York next month, Stratford at the end of April, followed by Swindon (who knew?!), and then Hay in May, Worcester in June, Penzance in July, Edinburgh in August, Budleigh Salterton and Soho (!) in Sept, before rounding the year off with a bumper month of Henley, Cheltenham and Manchester in October!

And that’s before I even look at the local ones, including Oswestry next Month, Shrewsbury children’s bookfest in May, and Wellington in the Autumn.

I’m exhausted just looking at all these events.  How did I never before realise just how large a circuit there was for all things literary.  And how the same names seem to come up so frequently at the various events.

This leads me to wonder about a suitable collective noun for literary festivals.  A promotion of festivals perhaps?! 😉

Leave a Reply

