The Writer’s Support Network

Standard

A recent comment from Wendy (of http://wendyswritingnow.blogspot.co.uk/ fame) has made me think about the valuable support network a writer needs.  Of course, established writers probably think of their understanding and encouraging editors and agents, and certainly their loyal fan base.  But for all of us, I reckon the most valuable support is from family and friends.  They’re there to give you a hug and cheer you up when that rejection letter arrives in the post.  They’re there to celebrate with you when you win that story competition.  They put up with your grumpy moods when the writing is going badly, when every word is a struggle.  They keep out of your way when you need some space to get on with it.  They’re there to welcome you back to reality when you emerge from the fictional world you’ve been inhabiting for so long.

They also provide practical assistance – little things, such as getting dinner ready, or appearing with a cup of coffee/glass of wine at just the right time, and bigger things, such as not completely freaking out when you announce you’re ditching your career and financial stability in order to….what?….write stories??

I’m indebted to my husband and his amazing attitude (“Yeah, we can manage – just want you to be happy”) and for my family for putting up with me “disappearing to my room” on a regular basis, and generally being uncommunicative!  I’m also indebted to my writing friends for empathizing when it’s going badly and sharing the joy when it’s flying.

Thanks everyone 😉

One response »

  1. Without my husband’s support I would not be doing what I am doing now. He has never doubted me and is always so chuffed when I sell a story. He has also become my chief proofreader – poor thing!

Leave a Reply

