Some Thank Yous!

Standard

I have a confession.  Last week there was a moment where I had the following thought regarding this novel competition submission:

‘Why don’t I just give this up?  Why am I putting myself under this pressure?  This isn’t fun, all this writing.  It’s just a chore.  A huge onerous task, hanging over me all the time.’ 

I was having a lot of trouble with the fine tuning, the last 10% which is always my downfall.  I was stuck.  I sent my first chapter to the lovely people at one of my writers’ groups (at the other writers’ group, they’ve already seen this chapter – they were there at the inception when I thought it was just going to be a short story!).  I didn’t expect many responses – I’d only given them a couple of days to give me feedback – and I fully appreciate everyone is busy with their own lives and their own writing.  But amazingly, I had lots of feedback.  They’d spotted some typos and had the odd question here and there where bits needed tightening up. Best of all, they gave me lots of encouragement, a little boost to push me over the finish line.  Never mind that I was having problems with a tricky bit of plotting, and trying to condense the whole into the dreaded synopsis.  A bit of brainstorming with my long-suffering husband, and we found a way out of the muddle.

My entry is now finished.  I’ve just printed it, and the envelope is sealed.  Without all the support I’ve had, I don’t think I’d have done it, so thanks everyone for your help.  Just want you to know I really appreciate it, and hope to return the favour soon.  🙂

Leave a Reply

