NANOWRIMO: The Finish Line!

Standard

It’s been a bit of a slog, but today I’ve finished NANOWRIMO 2014 – with a day in hand – phew!

Winner-2014-Twitter-Profile

The first scrappy rough draft of my novel (working title “With One Stone”) will now go into hibernation for a month, while I catch up with a month’s worth of life (plus Christmas shopping!).  I’ve not yet read it through, but I already know it will be littered with contradictions and huge unexplained jumps in the narrative, but by the time I get round to looking at it again with a fresh eye in the new year, I hope I’ll be in a position to make it all fit together – somehow.

At the bottom of this post is the draft blurb I wrote at the beginning of NANO – it’ll be interesting to see if the book turns out anything like the blurb!

Oh, and just before I sign off and sag into a post-nano heap in front of the log burner, I’d just like to say thank you to Paul (OH) for putting up with NANO month, a house that’s even more untidy than usual, and even fewer meals cooked than he might reasonably expect.  Having a supportive family really does make all the difference.  I’m also going to thank my writing and reading friends in advance given that I will probably ask them for feedback on the first proper draft in the new year…  Oh and finally, a mention for Mark Pearce from one of my writing groups, who undertook – and won – NANO this year for the first time.  Congrats, Mark!

 

With One Stone – the Blurb:

Jonathan says it’s the perfect solution – they’ll rent the cottage in Wales for a few weeks.  He can do the research for his new book (an exploration of the deterioration of the rural economy), and Caroline…well, she can have a much needed break after all that hassle with work and the redundancy.  It’ll be great to leave the hustle and bustle of the city for a while – have a complete change of scene.

But for Caroline, a cottage in the country, miles away from all her friends, and miles out of her comfort zone, might not be quite such a good idea.  With her husband obsessively focused on his research, she finds she has too much time on her hands, too much time to think.  When they accidentally stumble upon a long abandoned mental asylum, Jonathan’s work, and Caroline’s family history collide with terrifying consequences.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

