2024 Quarter 1 Review: Wrangling First Drafts and a Progress Report

Incredibly, we are already nearing the end of March (although, if like me you’re in the UK, you could be forgiven for thinking it’s still February – cold, grey, windy and still wet, wet, wet!), so today is not only time for a monthly review, but also a review of the first quarter of 2024 – eek!

  1. Working Draft of ‘Against the Clock

In the goals I set myself in December, I gave myself until the end of April to complete a working draft of the sequel to ‘Clear to the Last’. I guess you could say I was on track, since the majority of the first draft is written, but it’s still a mess of random scenes which don’t link up, and worse, I’m concerned that I might have backed myself into a tricky place from which to write book 3. I have to admit, I’m not enjoying this part of the process one little bit. Experience convinces me that I will get through it, but right now, every time I open the document to start work on it, my heart sinks as I find another gaping plot hole/continuity error/contradiction, or other nonsense. I’m even feeling a bit annoyed with my characters. Livy is being even more anxiety-ridden than usual which is a bit tedious, and….well, everyone else just seems pessimistic and gloomy (apart from Reg of course, oh, and someone else, but I can’t mention that without the risk of a spoiler). Anyway, I’m hoping that a bit of extra time over the Easter hols will give me the opportunity to sort out the various plot lines so I can see the wood for the trees.

  • Short Story Collection

Since I’ve been so focused on Against the Clock, I’ve not worked on any short stories for the next collection. I’m frightened that if I swap to another project, I won’t be able to make myself go back to the novel because it’s in such a mess. Still, time for short stories once the novel draft is complete.

  • #200wordsaday

I’ve have written every day of 2024 and completed over 46,000 words to date (on average, over 500 words a day, well over target) – so that’s all good. Just wish the quality was as good as the quantity!

  • Social media & Newsletter

In the main, I’m sticking to my posting schedule, but clearly what I’m posting isn’t engaging or entertaining enough, because I’m not continuing to attract new followers in the numbers that I had been. On the other hand, I’m delighted to see that some more of you lovely people have been signing up to my newsletter recently – I hope you’ve managed to successfully download your free subscribers-only ebook Angel in Disguise –please let me know what you think of it. If you haven’t subscribed yet, you can do so here.

  • Financial stuff

Ebooks have outsold paperbacks this month, which hasn’t been my experience previously – though a contributing factor may have been my decision to drop the ebook price of Clear to the Last. Nonetheless, KindleUnlimited still makes up the lion’s share of my royalties, so my decision to remain in KU (and withdraw At the Paddock Gate from wide distribution and put it back into KU) is still working for me at the moment.

The US continues to be my biggest market – so a big thank you to all my readers across the pond!

The other thing to note this month is the ALCS payment. The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society collects royalty payments on behalf of authors for ‘secondary rights’ (stuff like photocopying, library lending etc.). I’ve been a member for years (since the days when I wrote for the UK magazine market) and it’s completely worth the modest annual fee. They make two payments a year – one in March and one in September – but March is usually the biggest pay-out. It’s not a fortune, but it is a nice little bonus. If you’re a UK writer, and you aren’t yet a member, I’d highly recommend you join.

    • Beta Readers

    I now have a team of Beta Readers lined up ready and waiting for the advanced version of Against the Clock – though obviously they’re still going to have a bit of a wait! I’m hugely grateful to everyone who has offered to help, and thank you for being patient after I possibly over-promised in my last newsletter! If you would be interested in being a Beta Reader, please subscribe to my email list and drop me a line with your details. I can then let you know what’s involved (ideally suited to someone who is an avid reader, with a sharp eye for errors, who’s not afraid of telling me they didn’t like something, but most importantly, is able to articulate why!).

    So, all in all, a reasonably productive first quarter. Thanks for sticking with me while I continue to make (slow) progress. Now I need to back to book-wrangling – arrgghh! – wish me luck! 😉

    Published by Jenny Roman

    Short story writer & novelist: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B01EPBTO92/ref=cm_cr_arp_mb_bdcrb_top?ie=UTF8#

    Leave a comment