Equestrian Author Interview: Anna Rashbrook

Today’s post is an interview with Anna Rashbrook, author of the Horses and Souls series amongst many others, so grab yourself a cuppa and settle down for some behind-the-scenes info about Anna’s writing, and about some of the horses in her life.

When did you start writing – and what inspired you to take it up?

I’ve written bits and pieces all my life and have hoarded them. They were really useful when I was writing my memoirs. I wrote my first novel in 1992, a Christian thriller, but couldn’t find a publisher. It was only in 2019, when I was living in Austria, I had the time to write and give self publishing a go.

Could you share a brief overview of your writing journey so far?

I began with Challenger, which started out as a vivid dream, then Compromise and Chaos came that way too. Then came along a Christmas book, one based on my time teaching riding in Austria, then the end of the now Horses and Souls series as we moved back to the UK in 2021. Since then, I’ve written about the 1946 Grand National, based on an account my mother left me. Having moved to Wales, I’ve now written about Pit ponies too. In between I’ve written four memoirs and my latest a Christian cosy mystery. I’m taking a break now until May as I’m involved in organising the first ever Pontypridd Book Fair.

Sounds like you’ve been pretty busy over the past few years! So, if you ever have any spare time, apart from writing, what other things do you love to do?

Walking, reading, gardening and collecting old horse books. I volunteer with the local RDA, and really, really must get back on a horse soon!

What themes or messages do you explore in your writing?

All my books have a Christian message, some blatant, others more subtle!

How do you approach the writing process? Do you have any rituals or routines?

I have to have the plot as far as possible in my head before I begin, but if I get stuck, I take the dog out on the hills and think it through.

Do you tend to “write what you know” or do lots of research for your stories?

I really got into researching for my Grand national and Pit ponies books and had a real buzz from creating fiction from all the sources. Horses have been in my life through childhood and in work, so they are totally what I know, so I write with them inside me. The ponies in my Pit pony book came from the cover picture and wrote their own stories!

Tell us about some of the horses in your life.

I have three favourites. Emma, my first pony, a 14.3 dark bay, Dales cross who came into my life when I was 13. We had such fun and got into all sorts of scrapes together.

Then came Monty, a 15.2 palomino Welsh cob, who I had on loan when I worked in equine assisted therapy. I spent many happy hours pootling around the New forest with him.

When I worked in Austria teaching riding, my main partner in crime was Rodi, a 14.2 liver chestnut Icelandic who was the perfect lead horse. I could even turn around and check my ride when we were cantering and he wouldn’t falter. He did have his moments, such as immersing his head up to his eyes in streams! Like Monty, he could inhale carrots and apples.

A big thank you to Anna for giving us an insight into her writing world.

If you’d like to find out more about Anna’s stories, head on over to her Amazon author page, or check out her website Anna’s Horse Books which features all her books, including Castles in the Air (Horses and Souls, Book 5).

Published by Jenny Roman

Short story writer & novelist: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B01EPBTO92/ref=cm_cr_arp_mb_bdcrb_top?ie=UTF8#

Leave a comment